The Sound Of Peace

By David J. Murnion
Regular price $30.00

The Sound of Peace is the saga of two dynamic Quaker families immigrating to Central Montana in 1879, where nothing resembling European civilization exists except one abandoned fort and one trading post operated by two men of questionable reputation. From 1879-1884, everything changes: There are three gold strikes in three nearby island mountain ranges, two huge open-range cattle companies who resent homesteaders, at least five small towns within a 50-mile radius, road agents, and vigilantes. For the two Quaker families, made up of unique individuals, it is not always possible to maintain their peaceful lifestyle.

About the Author

David J. Murnion was born in the territory of Alaska and moved to Eastern Montana at the age of eight, whereupon his family assumed management of his grandparents’ 76-square-mile sheep, cattle, and horse ranch, where his father was born. He learned a great deal of Indigenous history and early open-range cattle era from the land itself and from many old-timers.

David currently lives with his wife, Jacqueline, in a one-room log cabin off the grid in a small mountain range in Central Montana, where he writes, Jacqueline is an artist, and together they hike and travel to national parks and monuments, and to wilderness areas and wildlife refuges.

This book ships in 7-10 business days.

Published: 2023
Page Count: 524